Skip navigation

In my opinion, this is one of the toughest obstacles any entrepreneurial game developer will ever overcome. If you’re smart, you have a pretty good idea as to how you want your development process to flow (if you’re a genius, you have it all planned out, down to the slightest detail and contingency), but getting people to fill your positions can be a monster task, especially when you’re not paying people. Gone are the days when people will come in droves, gladly sacrificing their free time and falling on their knees for the privilege of having you lead them to greatness. In the age of multimillion dollar budgets and in which EA and the Sequel Rule All, the two most important words anyone looking to recruit are; “Prove it.”

I didn’t do much posting this time around; unlike previous attempts in this business, I had a pretty good idea as to what I wanted to accomplish (HINT HINT!!) so I knew where to go looking. It still blows me away that people post ads like; “I’m pretty sure this idea will make millions of dollars” and then bump their ads all to be damned when no one responds. My favorite has to go to one response I got; I prefer that people respond to my ads via email, rather than risk long, drawn-out negotiations in public. So I get this one email (hang on, lemme dig it up) from someone who says that s/he’s “happy that I’m making games.” They go on to say that they would “like to hire me to help them with their game.”

Now, DESPITE THE FACT they have a yahoo email address (usually an indication that they’re starting this out of their own home. Not a problem at all, because this person might have something plausible in mind) I’m actually getting a little excited because I could always use the extra income. But then they have to step over the line. Mr. He-Who-Will-Not-Be-Named goes on to tell me that they’re a “parent company of Nintendo”. But oh, wait, they’re smart; they anticipate my skepticism. They tell me that if I “don’t believe them” I am free to check out their MySpace Page!!!!

I can blog about it here, but needless to say, they didn’t get a response. I can’t believe that anyone would still be selling the same shit; oh, I work for insert-big-name-here, yet I have no concept art, no portfolio and not even a frikkin website to show. Why am I getting flamed all over the message boards?

My approach is a little different, but requires a lot of patience; I’m completely honest. I tell people right up front that I can’t afford to pay, that I’m working on a small, doable project with a relatively short dev time table, and I need these two slots filled. The most I can do to prove my professionalism is list a domain name I actually had to pay for that people can respond too.

In all my dealings, no matter how seemingly trivial, I try to be up front, and honest. Before you have your first deal, first design doc, or hell, even your first idea, all you have is your reputation.

I went into this armed with something I hadn’t had before. Usually, I tried to create a title that rivaled Grand Theft Auto even in its demo stage, and even writing the design document can be a daunting task. So I came up with a small idea that seemed both fun and doable on a budget, as well as stayed true to the vision of the company; I completed a design document before I went recruiting. I think it helped.

I had no responses in about a week and was about to throw in the towel when suddenly I started getting emails from very talented and driven people. I have to admit I breathed a sigh of relief.

And, a week later, I’ve begun pre-production.
Shan, my programmer, comes off as having done this before. He works fast and he seems to know what he’s talking about. He completed a technical design document inside of a day, so yeah, I’m happy to have him. Dylan comes off as the eager kid who just wants to make games, and I admit I grin a bit when I get one of his emails. He has quick turnaround time, he knows his stuff, and he’s ambitious as all hell; he and his friend are creating their own engine, called Omega.

Now, I’ll be honest. I’ve been at this for a long time. Creating your own game engine is probably the developer’s equivalent to scaling Mount Everest. I’ve come across tons of people who had the next big thing in mind and for whatever reason, it never got done. Then again…I’ve also known people who managed to complete their engine and are living pretty well right now. Guess it all depends on how badly you want it. This is part of why I enjoy meeting people, though; you never know where someone will be in ten years. It’ll be interesting to see where Dylan and Omega go.

But for now, that’s it. Honesty, so far, has paid off. There has been some slight revisions to the game but everything is going pretty well. Till next time..

 

Next week: A New Indie In This Industry

Leave a Reply

